Go to Publicity
Hong Kong
«Back to news



Cyprus supported the creation of a pan-European prosecutor's office

The European Union approved the decision to establish a pan-European prosecutor's office, which will investigate financial crimes. This is stated in the statement of the EU Council, circulated on Thursday in Brussels.

"12 October the standard on the establishment of the European Prosecutor's Office was approved by the member countries that are participating in its establishment," the document says.

The Council emphasizes that currently 20 member countries have expressed their consent to participate in the creation of the prosecutor's office. These are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Germany, Greece, Spain, Finland, France, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia and Slovakia. The rest of the EU states will be able to join the project when they want.

The headquarters of the Prosecutor's Office will be located in Luxembourg. As they say in the statement of the EU Council, the structure will start working not earlier than in three years, that is, in 2020 year.

A source: TASS

Tags: Cyprus, Prosecutor's Office, EU, Europe