Go to Publicity
«Back to news



Head over heels. The Rally of Cyprus is over

The Cossack Nasser Al-Attiya became the five-time winner of the "Rally Cyprus-2017", ahead of the French rider Sebastien Loeb, who excelled on the roads of the island of Aphrodite four times. In the top ten were seven Cypriot crews.

On Saturday, three experienced riders flew off the track on the same turn. The video of the three accidents became a hit, the comments of the two crews had to be pounced.


On Saturday, Al Attiyy managed to get ahead of his closest pursuer Alexandros Tsouloftas for comfortable 3 minutes 19 seconds. Therefore, on Sunday, before the Qatari crew, the task was simply not to leave the race.

"We are trying to maintain concentration, which is not so simple, because we can not go too slowly," the leader of the race said in a break between the stages of the second day of the competition.

The chosen tactics led to victory. The main rivals of the Qatari - the Russian Nikolai Gryazin and the Pole Kayetan Ketanovich - could not get into the Top 10, although the Muscovite won the preliminary race, and also was the leader at 11 and 12 stages.

This year, the Cypriot teams performed well. They took seven places in the top ten. On the second line was Simos Galatariotis, on the third - Panikos Polikarpu. The tenth place was taken by the grandson of the former leader of the Turkish-Cypriot community Rauf Denktash.

Results of the Cyprus Rally-2017

1. Al-Attiyah N. / Baumel Matthieu Ford Fiesta R5 02: 31: 44.3
2. Galatariotis S. / Ioannou Antonis Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X 02: 37: 56.3
3. Polykarpou P. / Winter Gerald Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 02: 38: 03.8
4. Demosthenous C. / Laos Pambos Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 02: 39: 24.7
5. Von Thurn und Taxis A. / Degandt Bjorn Škoda Fabia R5 02: 40: 06.6
6. Panteli Petros / Christodoulou K. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 02: 41: 20.8
7. Savva Savvas / Papandreou A. Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 02: 41: 39.4
8. Antoniou S. / Pieri Demetris Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX 02: 42: 16.4
9. Tsouloftas A. / Elia Stelios Citroën DS3 R5 02: 43: 47.5
10. Denktaş Rauf / Dervis Bora Ford Fiesta R5 02: 44: 21.7

Golden stages with the prize fund 24 000 euro

The organizers of the "Rally Cyprus" in conjunction with the Cyprus Tourism Organization have established a special cash prize for the winners of the last two stages - Love Cyprus Golden Stages. 10 thousand euros are awarded to the fastest racing driver and the 7000 euro - the fastest motorcyclist and racing driver-Cypriot.

The first gold stage was won by Al Attiya, the second - by Kayetanović. According to the results of two stages, the Qatari racer went around Polish only for 0,3 seconds. The fastest Cypriot, passed two stages, was Alexandros Tsuloftas. The best among the motorcycle racers was the Turk Yumit Kan Ozdemir.

The most dangerous turn

The first day of the competition was marked by a series of accidents, technical breakdowns and punctures. Three descents from the track were recorded on the same precipice. Could not cope with the ill-fated turn Pole Kayetan Ketanovich. After him, the Murat Bostanci and the leader of the European Rally Championship, Portuguese Bruno Magallaes, made a mistake and flew off the road.

And if the speakers on the cars Ford Bostanci and Kayetanovic went smoothly from the distance, then the Portuguese on Skoda several times turned over. Fortunately, serious injuries to the pilot and the navigator were avoided. The European Rally Championship team produced a video of three sorties from the track. The comments of the Polish and Portuguese crews had to be pumped.


Tags: Cyprus, Racing, Sports, Competitions, Auto

GTranslate Your license is inactive or expired, please subscribe again!